If you're thinking about monarchy...

The recent revelations of life inside the British monarchy may prompt a few questions, such as, how many monarchies are there, and why do they persist? Here's some data.

The United Nations currently recognises 195 sovereign countries. This number includes the Vatican and the State of Palestine but does not include Kosovo or Taiwan, both of which are have disputed status and are claimed to be part of Serbia and PR China respectively. Of the 195 UN member states, 43 (22%) still have monarchs as head of state; 16 of these are Commonwealth countries whose ceremonial head of state is the British monarch. For most of the world, the age of kings and queens is long past. There are only 10 remaining absolute monarchies: Brunei, Swaziland, Saudi Arabia, Bhutan, Monaco, Bahrain, Liechtenstein, the Vatican, The United Arab Emirates and Oman. In four of these countries the reigning monarch has the title, king. In total around 50 million people, 0.6% of the world’s population, are still subjects of an absolute monarch, and 96% of these live on the Arabian Peninsula.

Image by Jo-B from Pixabay

6 views0 comments